SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #9

Script for a Jester’s Tear
Artist: Marillion
Album: Script for a Jester’s Tear
Year: 1983
Writers: Fish, Steve Rothery, Pete Trewavas, Mark Kelly, Mick Pointer

Video
Lyrics

This song is simply a lyrical and musical masterpiece. Fish shows his talent for writing lyrics that could be published in any kind of poetry collection. The images he creates are amazing and the music emphasizes them to a degree where you really feel for the singer (or rather lyrical-I) and get carried away with the song. To me, Fish is one of the best songwriters of all time and this song is my all-time favorite from Marillion.

My favorite lines:

So here I am once more in the playground of the broken hearts
One more experience, one more entry in a diary, self-penned
Yet another emotional suicide overdosed on sentiment and pride
Too late to say I love you, too late to re-stage the play
Abandoning the relics in my playground of yesterday

(Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear)

I never did write that love song, the words just never seemed to flow
Now sad in reflection did I gaze through perfection
And examine the shadows on the other side of the morning

(Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear)

The fool escaped from paradise will look over his shoulder and cry
Sit and chew on daffodils and struggle to answer why?
As you grow up and leave the playground
Where you kissed your prince and found your frog
Remember the jester that showed you tears, the script for tears

(Marillion – Script for a Jester’s Tear)

What do you think about that song? Are there any particular songs you’d like your kids to know?

2 responses to “SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #9

  1. I quite like the lyrics! I’m not sure the musical style is my cup of tea but perhaps that is just a matter of becoming more acquainted to it?! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The lyrics are really great! Maybe you really need to get acquainted to the style because the music is pretty good, too. Just listen to some more Marillion with Fish as a vocalist. Maybe you’ll like it 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

