When I turn my Eyes inside to see what’s lurking in the Dark

This is the twelfth song of my Something to Remind You project

Afraid to stand beside a shadow and to fall
To swim against the stream, to run against the wall
I can drown, I can’t climb
I can only face the demon in my mind

Afraid to stand beside a shadow and to fail
To be hit by a train, to be tied to the rail
I can fly, I can’t die
I can’t let the demon chase you from my mind

And with time comes and goes the pain
My failures pouring down in a burning, burning rain
I beg you to call out my name
Hold me, hold me tight and keep me sane
I’m still walking, can’t step out of my shoes
But I love you

Afraid to see the shadow when I break
To crack my outer shell, be constantly awake
I can’t leak, I can’t sleep
I can’t let the demon get the best of me

I want to cut
I want to bleed
I want to scream it away

And with time comes and goes the pain
My failures pouring down in a burning, burning rain
I beg you to call out my name
Hold me, hold me tight and keep me sane
I’m still walking, can’t step out of my shoes
But I love you

I want to cut
I want to bleed
I want to scream it away

I want to cut
I want to scream
I want to bleed it away

And with time comes and goes the pain
My failures pouring down in a burning, burning rain
I beg you to call out my name
Hold me, hold me tight and keep me sane
I’m still walking, can’t step out of my shoes
But I love you

Help me to fight it
Light it
Kill the dark

Any thoughts you’d like to share?

Leave a Reply

