SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #6

Gone Away
Artist: The Offspring
Album: Ixnay on the Hombre
Year: 1997
Writers: Dexter Holland

Video
Lyrics

I listened to that song a lot in the past few days and liked it more the more I listened to it. It’s quite a powerful song and one of the best The Offspring ever published. Of course there are the more famous ones (that I’d want my kids to know) but the famous songs are not necessarily the best ones. Anyways, this song made me think about losing the ones you love and those special people with whom you’d like to change places, so that they get another chance to live a life they might have never lived in their time on earth. Or people that enjoy living so much that you’d die for them only so they can go on enjoying more of their life. For me, these people exist. How about you?

My favorite lines:

And it feels
And it feels like
Heaven’s so far away
And it feels
Yeah it feels like
The world has grown cold
Now that you’ve gone away

(The Offspring – Gone Away)

I reach to the sky
And call out your name
And if I could trade
I would

(The Offspring – Gone Away)

What do you think about that song? Are there any particular songs you’d like your kids to know?

Leave a Reply

