SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #3

Wish You Were Here
Artist: Pink Floyd
Album: Wish You Were Here
Year: 1975
Writers: Roger Waters, David Gilmour

Lyrics

On April 6 1968 Pink Floyd announced that their singer Syd Barrett had finally left the band due to suffering from psychiatric disorders. Among other themes, the album Wish You Were Here deals with Barrett leaving Pink Floyd. The song Wish You Were Here is one of my favorite songs from the album. It’s quiet, beautiful and can be applied to so many different situations.

My favorite lines:

So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell, blue skies from pain.
(Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here)

How I wish, how I wish you were here.
We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,
Running over the same old ground.
What have we found?
The same old fears.
Wish you were here

(Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here)

What do you think about that song? Are there any particular songs you’d like your kids to know?

8 responses to “SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #3

Leave a Reply

