SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #2.1

Note: The following post was written by my new fellow editor Turtle1201. When I talked to her about my idea for this series of posts she – being the Disney fangirl she is – asked me “What about songs from Disney movies?” So, I offered her to participate in this series (and this blog) and below you find her first post. Although it’s been posted under my name all the credtit goes to her.

Circle of Life
Artist: Elton John
Album: The Lion King (Soundtrack)
Year: 1994
Writers: Carmen Twillie, Lebo M.
Video
Lyrics

Apart from all the rock, pop and metal songs bino32 wants his prospective kids to know, I think that Disney songs should also play an important part in childhood and while growing up.
Today I still love Disney songs and films and don’t want to miss them in my life – past, present or future.
The first Disney film I can remember is “The Lion King” which I watched together with my father in the cinema and which was also the first time I saw a movie in a cinema. This could also be a reason why “The Lion King” was so impressing.
My absolute favorite song is “Circle of Life” by Elton John which is the first song you hear in the film when the sun rises in Africa. Even today I always feel touched when I listen to the song and think of the real “Circle of Life” which goes on and on and all people, animals and nature have to follow its rhythm and rules every day, month and year.
In addition to that it reminds me of all the wonders of life and nature and that our lives are too short to see all the amazing and different landscapes in the world and that we should take our time to fulfill our dreams and aims to enjoy life and nature.

My favorite lines:
It’s the wheel of fortune
It’s the leap of faith
It’s the band of hope
Till we find our place
On the path unwinding
In the circle, the circle of life
(Elton John – Circle of Life)

What do you think about that song? Are there any particular songs you’d like your kids to know?

Leave a Reply

