SIWMKTK – Songs I’d Want My Kids To Know #2

Tears in Heaven
Artist: Eric Clapton
Album: Music from the Motion Picture Soundtrack RUSH
Year: 1992
Writers: Eric Clapton, Will Jennings
Video
Lyrics

Today is Eric Clapton’s 71st birthday. So, I thought I’d post one of his most beautiful songs. Although it’s not a happy birthday song it might be an implicit message to (of course) mourn death but rather live life. We will see again the ones we love and lost.
Concerning Clapton’s questions in the lyrics: Yes, why wouldn’t our late friends and family members not know our names or hold our hands in heaven? Why should anything change? Except that on earth we’re considered dead.
Honestly, I don’t think I believe in all that life after death. But for the ones who do it must be beautiful. Maybe I can change my mind someday.

My favorite lines:

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven?
Would it be the same
If I saw you in heaven?

(Eric Clapton – Tears in Heaven)

Beyond the door,
There’s peace I’m sure,
And I know there’ll be no more
Tears in heaven.

(Eric Clapton – Tears in Heaven)

What do you think about that song? Are there any particular songs you’d like your kids to know?

Leave a Reply

