Of Broken Hearts And Cracked Smiles

This is the seventh song of my Something to Remind You project.

It all began with you, the bridges burning
Twisting my words, still turning
There’s an end to every line, wake up from the dream
On a midsummer night, where have I been?
Outside, on the other side, see me hiding
Hear the scratch of you pen, you’re writing
Rhymes and lines and words that hurt
Your poetry is killing me

With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken heart

The last leaves of fall settle on the ground
You’re my approaching winter in a cyanide gown
Drown out the voices screaming in my head
Just let me go, why do you have to keep me instead?
Waving, on the other side, I sense you smiling
Hear the falling letters, oh you’re writing
Lines that die and words that hurt
Your poetry is killing me

With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken heart

And I open my mouth to scream
But the words won’t come out
My voice breaks so I suffer in silence
While your waves are crashing on my island

And I open my mouth to scream
But the words won’t come out
My voice breaks so I suffer in silence
While your waves are crashing on my island

With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken…
Heart

When at last we part, the city is destroyed
Annihilation, misery, come on fill the void
Colors that drain from a photograph
Tear me apart the way I cut you in half
Inside, on the other side, I’m dying
The sounds of a pen on paper, you’re writing
Verses and curses and words never heard
You’re poetry, you’re killing me

With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken heart
With a cracked smile and a broken heart (you’re killing me)
With a cracked smile and a broken heart (you’re killing me)
WITH A CRACKED SMILE AND A BROKEN…
HEART!!!

Leave a Reply

