With A Smile

This is the sixth song of my Something to Remind You project.

It’s insane
All the ups and downs
Never knowing where to turn, where to go
And the pain
Not the worst I’ve ever known
When it’s gonna burn, burning slow

I’m afraid we
Might be headed in different directions
Afraid of chasing a reflection
You could use that gun on me tonight
With a smile

I’m a clown
The colors on my face
Washed away by tears, now replaced
Still a clown
So easy to erase
All of my fears, steps retraced

I’m afraid we
Might be headed in different directions
Afraid of chasing a reflection
You could use that gun on me tonight
With a smile

I know I shouldn’t think too much
Hell, I tried
I’d lie
If I said I didn’t care

So easy for you to say
Lift me up or throw me away
I wouldn’t blame you

What we’ve said
Tears I wiped away
I held you when you cried, wish I had
In my head
Still dream about that day
I held you tight, dreamer’s dead?

I’m afraid we
Might be headed in different directions
Afraid of chasing a reflection
You could use that gun on me tonight
With a smile

I care for you, I really do
Feel you here, so far away
Will you go? Are you coming back?
Will you ever stay?

I’m afraid we
Might be headed in different directions
Afraid of chasing a reflection
You could use that gun on me tonight
Or make me smile

Any thoughts you’d like to share?

2 responses to “With A Smile

Leave a Reply

