Behind the Glass

This is the second song of my Something to Remind You project.

I love you but you just turn away
Is there nothing left to say?
Nothing that you need that only I can give
Nothing in my words makes it worth to live – with me

I run but you don’t walk in my direction
Like a tree in a storm that offers no protection
Rejection – push me away – beg me to stay
Demons are laughing, the devil’s dancing your way

You’ve always been the one behind the glass
My future, my present, my back to the past
I knew you wouldn’t stay, still tried to make it last
Whenever it got worse, you were always at your best

So sick of how you’re treating me – fucking with my mind
I’ve never been anything – nothing more than a child
Anything but perfect, take a look at yourself
Store me in a box, seal it, put me on a shelf

You’ve always been the one behind the glass
My future, my present, my back to the past
I knew you wouldn’t stay, still tried to make it last
Whenever it got worse, you were always at your best

Walk with me the last mile through this land
I will no longer bother you, just let go of my hand
I fly and I die and I fall like a stone
Whenever I’m settled you’re gone and I’m alone

You’ve always been the one behind the glass
My future, my present, my back to the past
I knew you wouldn’t stay, still tried to make it last
Whenever it got worse, you were always at your best

You’ve always been the one behind the glass
My future, my present, my back to the past
I knew you wouldn’t stay, still tried to make it last
Whenever it got worse, you were always at your best

Any thoughts you’d like to share?

3 responses to “Behind the Glass

Leave a Reply

