Songs in my Head #2

I’ve been driving all night, my hands wet on the wheel
There’s a voice in my head that drives my heel
It’s my baby calling, says “I need you here”
And it’s a half past four and I’m shifting gear
(Golden Earring – Radar Love)

Golden Earring – Radar Love
When I woke up some mornings ago I did not hear a voice in my head, but a song. And I’m still hearing it from time to time. I also listen to the song and I love it.
Radar Love was released in 1973 by Dutch rock band Golden Earring on their album Moontan. It was written by George Kooymans (Lead Guitar) and Barry Hay (Vocals).
The song is written from a lover’s point of view who is on his way to his “baby”. The special thing about their relationship is that both lovers do not communicate via physical means but telepathy; i.e. radar love.
On the radio the lover listens to Brenda Lee performing Coming on Strong from 1966.
Radar Love was covered by numerous bands including R.E.M., U2 and Def Leppard and featured in many movies, series etc. (e.g. The Simpsons)
The song reached #13 in the US charts and hit the top 10 in Germany and Spain among other countries. It is not only the band’s most famous song but also a milestone in Dutch rock history.

Leave a Reply

