Five of the Week #9

Well, it’s Wednesday again. The more Wednesday, the less waiting. Yeah, time can be a real bitch when your waiting for something. I guess you all know that. However, I don’t want to lose myself in the topic “time”. It’ll be hard to avoid though.
Yes, these days I’m waiting. Actually, I’m glad that I have lots of things to do, so I can forget about the waiting aspect quite often. What I can’t and won’t forget about are the memories. So every so often I take a walk down memory lane or lose myself in thoughts of the end of my waiting which produces quite a mix of feelings.

I don’t want to go too deep into each of these feelings as that might become too personal. What I can say is they’re positive feelings even if they may have a bitter aftertaste when you’d just read the words (e.g. longing). Inspite of all the positivity going through memories and waiting can become hard at times. In that case I like music. Music has kept me company forever and music never leaves you alone (unless the batteries of you mp3-player are dead).

Back to the topic. Music can make walking down memory lane a lot easier and keep up hope that, otherwise, you might run out of. So, today I decided to name five songs that help me to pass the time, make waiting endurable and walking down memory lane a joy.

1. Alter Bridge – Wonderful Life
What is there much to say? Alter Bridge is a great band and Myles Kennedy is one hell of a singer. Although the song is about saying goodbye and somebody no longer being on this earth, it has a lot of positivity in it. Well, at least for me. This is what I wanna keep up these days. It has been a wonderful life (time) so far and I’m sure it will when the waiting is done.

2. Mike Oldfield – Holy
Well, this one is quite different from Alter Bridge. However, Oldfield is a musical genius and he knows how to affect people with his songs. The song is just wonderful and the lyrics, apart from being great, hold true (for me) on so many aspects.

3. Staind – Something To Remind You
The lyrics say that “the road is long”. The good thing is when you don’t have to walk that road alone. At the moment I’m walking down that road alone. However, there’s always a little something to remind me, remind me of what was and to pave the road for what will be. The song might be quite melancholic but it keeps me going. That’s what it’s all about, to keep going to the end of “waiting”, to win the waiting game.

4. The Prodigy – Invaders Must Die
Ok, this one is quite different from all the other songs. And there aren’t any lyrics, unless you consider “We are The Prodigy” and “Invaders must die” lyrics. However, this song is special to me in so many ways and I never wanna forget the day linked to that song.

5. The Verve Pipe – Colorful
This song is great and the lyrics are, too. I know the described feelings and honestly, I don’t want to miss any of them.

Of course there are a lot of other songs but I would have lost myself listing all of them.
Do you have any special memory songs?

2 responses to “Five of the Week #9

Leave a Reply

